top of page

'The Mountains Know I'm Leaving' & Other Poems on the Subject of Departure & Shifting Directions



The Mountains Know I'm Leaving


Framing the fringes of town.

The Chugach Mountains in vast relief.


Shrouded in mist on my penultimate day in Alaska.

As if hiding their sorrow with nature's veil.


We never did get closely acquainted.

I had planned to summit at least once.


Visiting the Great One took precedence.

Still I admired them from their base.


The Fall color cascade down their slopes,

Frosted spires hinting at a greater change,


The snow line gracing lower elevations at measure.

Initiating Winter preparations in haste.


Gracious enough to lend fair warning of what's inevitably to come.


Superseded by a return takeoff.

Bringing me back to where my heart faithfully resides.


That internal compass never forgetting its truest bearing.

Leading the way to legend.


But still a fragment is left.

For the Chugach to hold on to.


I'll be back in earnest.

To introduce myself in proper fashion.


The mountains know I'm leaving.

They also know the prospects of impermanence.


For the objects of our desire are written in the stars.

Bathed in alpine eternity, awaiting love itself.



Observations @ SEA-TAC:


Wheels skidding, slinking.

Matching silver sheened suitcases.

Intermittent masking.

This hub is alive and humming well.

Cushion comfort for the hours.

A violin offers voluminous tranquility.

All backgrounds conceivable trace the tile.

Checking in to promote good graces.

A pilot's penchant to rest.

Assured time in this space.

Escalators carry lives onward, upward, downward.

A costumed hero waiting to make an appearance.

Orange sherbet sparkles to refresh.

Carts hurry by to any destination.

Lounges linger for the few.

Crowds converge in short spaces.

Journeys of multitudinous lengths are directed and redirected.

Business casual wearing a solemn expression.

Gates garner supreme attention.

Watching, waiting for an empty table in vain.

Fresh arrivals clamor to claim belongings momentarily dispossessed.

And still, the day carries on the same in spite of the rush.


Liftoff Ruminations


Exaltation, anxieties abound.


An anticipated return,


A welcomed return.


With no direction.


What to do?


All I know,


Is one thing.


That this is,


Where I love.


Where I ought,


To exist, thrive.


In-between phases.


Difficult to navigate,


Negotiate, keep steady.


But I must.


This I chose.


Passion still exists.


Heart still beats.


Legends never cease.


Hard lessons lived.


Now I rest.


For the charge,


Inevitably ahead here.


Not anywhere else.


Direction takes patience.


Trial and error.


Direction and redirection.


Still I strive.


When the right,


Moment comes around.


Dreams will coalesce.


Into infinity rising.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Moving Blog Platforms!

Due to preferences, greater ability to reach prospective readers, and glitchy site mechanics here, I am in the process of migrating posts...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page