top of page

A Love Letter to Los Angeles

Dear Los Angeles,

I’m writing to let you know that I love you. Deeply and unabashed. Not at first sight, but over time, with miles logged over rough hewn streets. With hours spent at coffee shops, trendy hipster cafes, and sporting events. I'm writing with thoughtful consideration of your built environment and the people that are a part of it, living and working at a pace most would consider to be frenetic. Some would say your streets are grimy, your people are ill-mannered, and your attractions are overstated. I say otherwise. To me, your streets are full of energy for one to tap into and feel immediately alive. Your people are diverse in their backgrounds and orientations, and this is a true strength. I also love your contradictions and all your flaws without hesitation. Furthermore, your attractions are superb. From a park emerging out of a grassroots vision set to a backdrop of massive structures jutting into the sky, to a transit hub with a colorful history to match the works adorning its halls, there is always more to experience in this city. I’d invite anyone to stroll down Wilshire boulevard in Koreatown. Main street in downtown. 2nd street in Little Tokyo and 4th in the Arts District. The boardwalk in Venice (yes technically a part of the city of LA not its own municipality). Observe the subtle details. Close your eyes for a moment and feel the energy of the street. Be keen to your surroundings as always you should, but also find appreciation for what is layered and complex, not easily understood, and that often goes unnoticed and unappreciated. There's just something about you, Los Angeles. Maybe that's why they call you the City of Angels, aside from the obvious refrain. I'm enamored regardless. From sunset at the beach, to passing by the city lights on the way back home, you never disappoint. It could just be me, but those lights get just a little brighter when I gaze upon them, longingly so. I'll be back to see you again soon.


Sincerely,

Cameron Mayer, An admirer from afar

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page