top of page

Meditations on Far Off Places


Anchorage, Alaska (From the Instagram account @visitanchorage).


When I write these posts, it usually starts off as an idea, vague or specific, and that idea is translated into a title. Who knows how that title is then taken and further distilled into a spiel about any given topic or source of inspiration, until well, I sit down to write. This process is as mysterious as it is iterative - how a topic takes shape and over however many sit down sessions is a function of my convoluted, yet (I think) beautiful mind. As all are in some way.

With that being said, meditations on far off places came to me as a general title for what I otherwise struggled to put into words as I dreamed of new frontiers, adventures, and excitement to come to fruition whenever a uniquely important opportunity presented itself. One that I could only ever say yes to.

Such an opportunity indeed now has. I have been offered a job with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) in Anchorage, Alaska (AK). I have officially accepted the offer, and look forward to next steps and the possibilities that an adventure of this magnitude, of a lifetime it seems, may bring into my path. I have never been to Alaska, nor have I ever lived outside of southern California in my 24 years. However, if it is not already abundantly clear from the content that I post, I always crave extremes and limitless adventure. I sense, in the way that one knows something without realizing how exactly it is known, that the Great White North has that and more to offer. I hike the high peaks near home, but don't expect to see me scrambling up Denali anytime soon. There is much that I do not know, and in that frame of mind I am inclined to wait and see rather than to take risk of exceptional danger in an unknown landscape. Such relationships take time. I'll woo Alaska like a gentleman does a fine lady, with ample wit, courage, and a bit of sly yet measured confidence. Indeed, I am in no rush. Winter will come and I shall hold steady in pursuit of the beating heart of the "last frontier".

At a time when everything has been hitting hard and fast, and the angst to figure something out going forward became nearly excessive to bear, opportunity knocks with aplomb. I'd be lying if I refused to admit that I am scared. But who isn't. Also, it's freaking ALASKA! I naturally assume that things will be difficult for a while. I may have to live on relatively thin margins. I'll be far from home all by myself in a strange setting. I've never existed on my own without assistance of some kind. I'll have to give up my dogs for a time at least, possibly forever. It might honestly suck in some ways and some times. But, it's a foot in the door to greatness. I just know it in that peculiar way mentioned before. It begs repeating that some things are just known without requiring a cause for belief outside of the self.

I look forward to wandering the streets of Anchorage. Looks like they have quite the bustling downtown with as many coffee shops as I could want to choose from. Maybe I won't have to replay that same cozy fall coffee shop vibes video from YouTube anymore, because it will just be my reality! That sounds pretty sweet if you ask me.

Imagine all the photos I will get! The aurora borealis! Grizzly Bears (hopefully from a considerable distance, as I am petrified of meeting one in the flesh)! Snowy streets! Wild and scenic vistas! Snow capped peaks and glaciers (before they're gone)! Ah, I know I will never tire of such elements in my everyday existence.

Do I anticipate that I'll at times have to go outside begrudgingly in a blizzard? What about the darkness in the winter months and the reverse in the summer (it's actually not as extreme as ya might think on this end)? Might all the drastic changes, even climate/environment aside, be a lot to handle? The short answer is yes, I am sure the whole experience will be the greatest challenge yet in my life. But I am always willing to bet on myself. I trust universal timing. I believe in once in a lifetime opportunities. I listen to my intuition, and it says full speed ahead!

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Debbie Symons
Aug 08, 2022

Very well written Cam! I am so proud of you for taking such a huge & relatively scary step in your life… your beginning to many more great things! I believe in you and always have!! Go conquer the Last Frontier!! You got this!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page