top of page

Plants of Kenai Fjords National Park

Fireweed [Chamaenerion angustifolium] -Allll over Alaska! There's just a ton of 'em. Glad I caught these few blooms because they were spent literally everywhere else and I was curious and bummed out to miss the wildflower blooms. Just late to the party!








Partridgefoot [Luetkea pectinata]



A fern - seriously they are all exactly the same anyway so why differentiate eh?


Large-leaved Avens [Geum macrophyllum]


Red-berried Elder [Sambucus racemosa]


Sitka Mountain-Ash [Sorbus sitchensis]


More Red-berried Elder...


More Sitka Mountain-Ash...



Couldn't ID this one...said it was part of the carrot family?? As close as I got.


Salmonberry [Rubus spectabilis] - The Seek app could NOT identify this at first and I struggled in vain for a while on the one in the first photo...then went to another and it figured it out immediately! Thought about picking some but was not sure if they were okay to eat...and I suppose I ought to obey the laws of the National Park not to take or pick anything.




If ya made it this far you deserve to see a picture of a seal I took at a coastal park in Seward, Alaska. I was so excited to make this sighting!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page